Rider registration for the new-look 2012 Doodson sponsored ACU British Trials Championship closed last Friday and the good news is that a total of 36 riders have registered for the Championship class which fully justifies the ACUs decision to drastically re-vamp the series which will be run under No-Stop observing rules.


Reigning British Champ and factory Beta rider James Dabill will begin his title defence on Sunday, April 15, when the Lochaber club will get the exciting new series underway in the Highlands. James will face the challenge of the likes of arch-rival Michael Brown on the factory Gasser, Alexz Wigg on a private Gas Gas, new Pidcock-Montesa signing Jonathan Richardson, World Youth Champ Jack Sheppard joined by riders such as no-stop specialist Dan Thorpe, last year’s Expert A champ Ricky Wiggins, Expert B champ Guy Kendrew and a host of top National runners. 
The complete list of registered riders follows in alphabetical order: Ian Austermuhle, Josh Brain, Michael Brown, Andy Chilton, Dan Clark, Sam Connor, Ross Crosby, James Dabill, Ross Danby, Tom Dexter, Phil Disney, Jake Evans-Luter, James Fry, Danny Gamble, George Gosden, Rob Harries, Harry Harvey, Sam Haslam, Jack Howell, Guy Kendrew, Gary Macdonald, Ben Morphett, George Morton, Chris Pearson, Michael Phillipson, Jonathan Richardson, Craig Robinson, Iain Robinson, Richard Sadler, Jack Sheppard, Jack Spencer, Chris Stay, Dan Thorpe, Ben Wibberley, Alex Wigg, Ricky Wiggins.
The ACU accepts that not all riders will compete in every round and some will have registered so they can compete in their local event but even so it is an impressive list and should get the series away to a good start.
There are just two classes this year with the Championship class being supported by an Expert series which is primarily designed to attract local riders to have a go in a local round as a taster to possibly trying the Championship series as opposed to pot-hunters looking for easy pickings!