Scottish Twin-shock competitors headed to to Leadburn, Penicuik in Midlothian for their first championship round of 2012.


The track was in immaculate condition and there were also some cracking new blinged-up bikes coming out of their winter hibernation and prepped for the start of their first race. 
On the track the riders’ eagerness to get started saw an almighty pile-up at turn two, as the Over 40s and 50s class raced from the gate. 
Thankfully, all involved managed to pick up their machines and walk away. 
Photographer Sandy Eccles got caught up in the melee though and was unceremoniously knocked over by a rogue machine. 
Sandy soon got to his feet though and despite a couple of bruises and a bill for a replacement lens he lived to shoot another day.
In the Evolution class Team Loudon Honda had a collection of their immaculate machines in the top three, while Ayrshire man Archie Baird took all three wins in the Over 50 class. 
Ian Robertson was showing off his brand-spanking new C+G Honda Replica and took the overall with three wins in the Four-stroke class. 
Round 2: Tinto Moto Park, Rigside, April 15
For the second round it was a welcome return to Robbie Allan’s superb facility at Tinto Moto Park in Ayrshire. 
The weather gods were again smiling, with blue skies and a brisk westerly wind blowing across the immaculately-groomed course.
The brand-new Pre-1989 125 class, saw some great racing over the course of the day as Mike VanDerMerWe took the winner’s spoils from William Penrice and Andy Bean. 
In the Twinshock 500 class Paul Chiappa managed another three wins to take maximum points from Craig Smith and James McLean.
Martin Pennycook took the Twinshock 250 overall from Alan McCreadie, with Ayrshire brothers John and Davie McKell third and fourth respectively. 
The best racing of the day though was in the Evo class, as Tom Grant put in another dominant ride over the three legs to secure top spot from Alan Reid and Morton Hannah. 
It was another cracker of an event at Tinto, although the large table-tops and jumps were not favoured greatly by the older classic and vintage bikes. 
Round 3: Carden Farm, Powmill, May 27
The beautiful lush green pastures of Carden Farm, Powmill, take you back to when all motocross (or scrambling) was run on natural grassy tracks. 
And for the third time of asking the weather gods smiled as the temperatures soared well into the 80s.
Dunoon man Ritchie McFadden was in fine form in the sun as he took three race wins and the overall in the Pre-77 class. 
A new name appeared on the score sheets in the Over 40s, as Chris Canon romped home on his fast Suzuki, chased by John Mitchell and Davie Kilgour.
In the Fours-trokes, Andy Malloch was the man to beat with three wins on his big Armstrong giving him the overall from Ian Robertson and Rick Caldwell. 
Stuart Baird notched up another overall win in the Over 50s but that was not without a fight from a very quick Morris Wharton on his Maico and Garelochead man Gordon Forbes.
Scottish Twin-shock Championship 2012
Club Champion 2012: Paul Chiappa (14th Scottish Twinshock club championship)
Final Championship Positions
Over 40: 1 John Mitchell, 2 Davie Watson, 3 Davie Kilgour, 4 Calum Sangster, 5 Jeremy Williamson, 6 John Hopton.
Over 50: 1 Stuart Baird, 2 Gordon Forbes, 3 Archie Baird, 4 Steve Mower, 5 Alisdair Aitkin, 6 Donny Bruce.
Pre-77: 1 Calum Wilson, 2 Don Fullarton, 3 Alan Adair, 4 Grant McLure, 5 Brian Hamilton, 6 Ritchie McFadyen.
Fourstroke: 1 Rick Caldwell, 2 Andy Malloch, 3 Ian Robertson, 4 Jim Colligan, 5 Alan Anderson, 6 Scott Robinson.
Twinshock 250: 1 Martin Pennycook, 2 Alec Joiner, 3 Ian Rennie, 4 Joe McLean, 5 Davy McKell, 6 John McKell.
Twin-shock Open: 1 Paul Chiappa, 2 Craig Smith, 3 Brian Allardyce, 4 James McLean, 5 Dougie Dryden, 6 Stuart Thomson.
Pre 1989 125 Evolution: 1 Andy Bean, 2 William Penrice, 3 Mike VanDerMerWe, 4 Gary Britton, 5 Paul Heneke, 6 J Britton.
Evolution: 1 Tom Grant, 2 Morton Hannah, 3 Mark Kenny, 4 Alan Reid, 5 Ian Reid, 6 D McFadden.
Modern Mono-shock Support: 1 Mark Wilson, 2 Gordon Morrison, 3 Sean Doherty, 4 John Adamson, 5 Chris Davidson, 6 Brian Alexander.