WHEN the 2017 TrialGP season kicks off in Camprodon, Spain on the weekend May 13/14 it will bring with it a new and added dimension with the event also marking the start of a new era in the fight for the FIM Trial Manufacturers World Championship.

With the Trial2 class having now gained full FIM World Championship status alongside the TrialGP class, equal weight has been given to both classes in the FIM Trial Manufacturers’ World Championship. 

Prior to the recent closing date, manufacturers were invited to nominate a maximum of two riders in each class who will be categorised as counting riders in the championship. 

Only the highest-placed nominated rider in each class will score points for their respective manufacturer at each event. 

With all of this in mind the 2017 FIM Trial Manufacturers’ World Championship is set to be one of the most hotly-contested for many years. 

There will be no fewer than four British riders involved in the battle for manufacturer supremacy. 

James Dabill is the only representative in TrialGP as he spearheads the factory Gas Gas attack and he is joined by Trial2 contender Dan Peace.

Iwan Roberts will be looking to assist Beta’s TrialGP contenders Jorge Casales and Loris Gubian while Toby Martyn is entrusted with Trial2 duties for the Vertigo squad which is led by Jeroni Fajardo.

While Montesa clearly have the advantage in TrialGP with current World No.1 and No.3 Bou and Fujinami, the eventual outcome is sure to be much closer as the Trial2 contenders will have just as much influence as their big-name team leaders.

Manufacturers and nominated riders,  TrialGP and Trial2, in order of 2016 ranking:

1 Montesa: Toni Bou, Takahisa Fujinami/ Francesc Moret, Gabriel Marcelli.

2 Vertigo: Jeroni Fajardo/ Toby Martyn.

3 TRS: Adam Raga/ Luca Petrelli.

4 Gas Gas: James Dabill, Matteo Grattarola/ Dan Peace, Gael Chatagno.

5 Beta: Jorge Casales, Loris Gubian/ Iwan Roberts, Filippo Locca.

6 Scorpa: Benoit Bincaz/ Aniol Gelabert.