Ellwood on fire at Jack Frost Enduro

Ellwood on fire at Jack Frost Enduro

Tom Ellwood was a worthy Championship class winner

Tom Ellwood was on fine form at round one of the Rhayader Enduro Super Series (RESS) and took victory at the Jack Frost Enduro 2019. Tom was full of confidence coming into the event after a career best result the day before at the British Sprint Championship, where he finished in second and claimed some test wins.

In second place was local man Charlie Evans. He is always very fast around the Saint Wells test and today was no exception!  However, David ‘Kip’ Herring was not messing around and held his own throughout the day but fell just two seconds short of Evans’ Yamaha. James Dent, who made the long trip down from Cumbria was fourth on the MRS Sherco 250 with Lee Edmondson taking fifth!

In the Experts Ben Murphy took the win on the ET James KTM from Jack Cadwallader. Cadwallader was strong from start to finish but didn’t quite have enough to match Murphy’s pace. In third position was Shaun Buchan. Only two seconds separated fourth and fifth place riders, Garin Rosser and Roger Holland. Roger stalled his bike right before the finish line and perhaps that was the two seconds he needed for fourth place on the day!

Matthew Harries rode very well to win the Clubman Class and also take top honours in the Under 19 class for riders on machines under 150cc and in the Clubman class. A great incentive to bring young riders into the Enduro scene so well done to the Rhayader club for introducing this sub category. Following Harries home was Gareth Jones on his Husqvarna. In third was Jac George, and he was also in the Under 19 class so took second in that category. Third in the under 19 class went to Kris Price, and he finished fifth overall in the Clubman Class.

The Over 40 Category provided some of the tightest battles of the day and it was Anthony Griffiths who came out on top, just two seconds ahead of Paul ‘Elvis’ Davies, and a further 11 seconds back, Jason Rees. Rees was the final man on the podium, but only just as Robert Cooke was hot on his heels, only two seconds further back!

In the Over 50s Jon Tarr, who travelled up from Devon, took top honours from Stephen Davies. He had a comfortable margin of victory, almost a minute and a half! Emlyn George came home third! Gemma Holtham won the ladies category!

In the Sportsman A class Aidan Wright took the victory from Peter Bailey and Danny McPhee. Ben Saunders from Swansea was victorious in Sportsman B and had a seven-second margin of victory over Aaron Llewellyn. Third place went to Alyn Jones.


Championship: 1 Tom Ellwood, 2 Charles Evans, 3 David Herring, 4 James Dent, 5 Lee Edmondson, 6 Brett Hillman.
Expert: 1 Ben Murphy, 2 Jack Cadwallader, 3 Shaun Buchan, 4 Garin Rosser, 5 Roger Holland, 6 Charlie Chater.
Clubman: 1 Mathew Harries, 2 Gareth Jones, 3 Jac George, 4 Ryan Phillips, 5 Kris Price, 6 Timothy Saunders.
Ladies: 1 Gemma Holtham.
Over 40: 1 Anthony Griffith, 2 Paul Davies, 3 Jason Rees, 4 Robert Cooke, 5 Sean O’Neill, 6 Jeremy Mold.
Over 50: 1 Jonathan Tarr, 2 Stephen Davies, 3 Emlyn George, 4 Allan Price, 5 Colin Griffiths, 6 David Johnson.
Sportsman A: 1 Aidan Wright, 2 Peter Bailey, 3 Danny Mcphee, 4 Scott Halfyard, 5 Sam Titchmarsh, 6 Craig Rees.
Sportsman B:1 Ben Saunders, 2 Aaron Llewellyn, 3 Alyn Jones, 4 Gareth Rose, 5 Tomos Ifan Jones, 6 Geraint Rose.