2019 SQMXoN Schwedt Germany: Sidecarcross race report – Team GB dig deep to deliver podium

2019 SQMXoN Schwedt Germany: Sidecarcross race report – Team GB dig deep to deliver podium

Germany hosted a dramatic 2019 Sidecar and Quad Motocross of Nations event, with opening race disqualification for the Belgians and mechanical problems challenging Team GB to dig deep in the Schwedt sand.

Each country selects its three best teams to battle for the title of champion of the nations.

The Belgians headed qualifying so got the first pick of line position, giving them a big advantage going into the points-paying races on Sunday.

Unfortunately, they weren’t able to use that advantage as they had problems almost immediately.

Arne Dierckens/ Robbie Bax (BEL) suffered mechanical problems on the line, their team weren’t allowed to help, but they did swap to the back row and go straight to the pit box immediately after the start.

Marvin Vanluchene/ Ben Van Den Bogart (BEL) took their front-row place, holeshotted the start and went on to take a brilliant win.

Dierckens/ Bax fixed their problem, re-joined the race and fought back to mid-field. But their troubles were not over – after the race it was announced that swapping positions on the line is against the rules and both teams were disqualified from that race.

Britain’s Stuart Brown/ Josh Chamberlain held second but were awarded the win. With Jake Brown/ Joe Millard (GB) passing Gert van Werven/ Kenny van Gallen (NED) in the final few laps they took fourth, and enough points for Team GB to lead the nations battle into race two.

Etienne Bax/ Kaspars Stupelis (NED) were awarded second with their team-mates Van Werven/ Van Gallen in fifth. This put Team Netherlands in second in the battle for the title.

Team Estonia had two great finishes and held third.

Team Ireland were on good form with Neil Campbell/ Craig Parmenter in ninth, and Emma Moulds/ Nikki Adair mid-field.

With Team Belgium taking the first pick on the line they lined up on the inside and took another brilliant holeshot. Koen Hermans/ Lari Kunas (NED) held second with Brown/ Chamberlain behind, so the battle for the title heated up.

The track was sandy with deep ruts so the Dutch felt right at home fighting through to take the lead. Brown/ Chamberlain held third behind the Belgians but the Dutch pair of Van Werven and Van Gallen were on a charge and fought past in the final few laps.

This put their team into the lead going into race three with Team GB holding second. Team Ireland took another top-10 place with two safe finishes.

So the battle continued into the final race of the day. The title was secured very quickly with Team Netherlands taking first and second place from lap one, even when Vanluchene/ Van Den Bogart (BEL) fought into second, their position as nations champions was secure.

Team GB fought hard to hold second but they had a hard race. Brown/ Millard got tangled with another team dropping them to the back of the pack.

The British pair put in some great laps to fight back, only to suffer mechanical problems on the last lap.

George Kinge/ Lewis Grey (GB) battled hard to keep the podium dream alive and although the team dropped to third behind the Estonians they still took the bronze medal, although it was a close-run thing in the final laps.

Team Ireland took a brilliant eighth place, amongst the best in the world.

2019 SQMXoN Results - Nations Classification

1NetherlandsBax/ Van Werven/ Hermans10
2EstoniaVarik/ Normak/ Gordejev36
3Great BritainBrown/ Brown/ Kinge41
4Czech RepublicHroch/ Kolencik/ Cerny47
5LatviaJegorovs/ Rupeiks/ Daiders47
6FranceHamard/ Auvray/ Thomas52
7SwitzerlandHeinzer/ Cuche/ Hofmann63
8IrelandMoulds/ Campell/ Moulds63
9GermanyEngelbrecht/ Peter/ Janecke65
10ItalyLasagna/ Bernardini/ Bernardini88

Latest News