AMCA Championship changes

AMCA Championship changes

2018 AMCA

The AMCA’s Championship classes will be redefined for 2019 with a move away from the established MX1, MX2, Vets, 2T and Youth 85cc classes.

Keen to capitalise on the growth and improvements already made to the championships in recent years, the AMCA have announced that the MX2 class will now include 250cc two-strokes and a dedicated 125cc 2T (for up to 150cc two-stroke machines) class will replace the existing 2T competition.

This results in an AMCA Championship event consisting of five classes – MX1, MX2 (including 250cc two-strokes), Vets, 125cc to 150cc 2T and Youth 85cc which the AMCA believes better caters for the ever-changing demands of their membership.

Additionally the championship will become a 10-round series as the hunger for championship-quality events increases.

In previous years the number of rounds has fluctuated from seven to nine but increasing the number to 10 is sure to keep attention focussed until the end of the AMCA Championship powered by Datatag and supported by Dunlop.

Registration for the series is now open with full details on Each championship class will allow a maximum of 40 riders but if that total is exceeded during entry then qualifying rounds will be run in early March, 2019. There will be no non-qualifiers on the day of the championship rounds.

March 31 – Norley
April 21 – Boraston
May 5 – Warmingham Lane
May 19 – Bushton
June 2 – Fatcat
June 16 – Lower Drayton
July 7 – Hawkstone
July 28 – Culham
August 11 – Brookthorpe
September 1 – Long Lane
Reserve date – September 15