Report: British Sidecar Championship – Dean Moor

Report: British Sidecar Championship – Dean Moor

Stuart Brown and passenger Josh Chamberlain continued their dominance of the 2019 ACU Pro Clean British Sidecarcross Championship at Dean Moor as the pair swept all three races at the third round of the series.

Strong winds battered the circuit as the gate dropped for race one and it was Brown/ Chamberlain who started the day as they meant to go on – taking an early lead and never looking back as they raced to a great win with Brett Wilkinson/ Ryan Humphrey tucked into second.

Gary Moulds and stand in passenger Brian Anthony battled for third with Jake Brown/ Joe Millard and it was J Brown/ Millard who got the pass done to take third. George Kinge/ Lewis Gray we’re struggling with clutch problems but they managed to nurse the bike home to a fifth-place finish.

Dan Foden/ Roy Bijenhof passed Michael Hodges/ Paul Horton towards the end of the race to take sixth.

In race two Moulds/ Anthony bagged the holeshot and fought hard to stay ahead but with strong competition, the pair would eventually drop back to fourth.

J Brown/ Millard held second until they were hit with bad luck as the rear brake stuck on. They stopped and freed it up enough to finish the race and save their weekend with a seventh place at the chequers.

Brown/ Chamberlain fought past Kinge/ Gray to take second and started to reel in Wilkinson/ Humphrey to seal their second win of the day.

Dan Foden/ Roy Bijenhof finished fifth and Michael Hodges/ Paul Horton brought it home in sixth.

In the final race J Brown/ Millard didn’t have an answer to Brown/ Chamberlain’s dominance and had to settle for second behind the red plate holders as the pair wrapped up a third win to keep their perfect score going for the season.

The best action of the day was just behind the leaders with a place on the podium up for grabs.

Moulds/ Anthony were being pressured by Kinge/ Gray who persevered with a painful shower of roost but were unable to find a way through. But the two pairings were about to have company as Wilkinson/ Humphrey were on a charge through the pack after a poor start.

The trio battled lap after lap with Wilkinson/ Humphrey eventually passing Kinge/ Gray to finish third. Moulds/ Anthony held fourth but it wasn’t enough as they narrowly missed a podium place. Not reflecting how hard they had worked, Kinge/ Gray ended the final race in fifth with Foden/ Bijenhof in sixth.

Brown/ Chamberlain took the overall win and hold a 41 point advantage over J Brown/ Millard – father and son holding the top two spots in the championship. An amazing feat.

Kinge/ Gray are in third with Michael Hodges and stand in passenger Paul Horton in fourth.

Wilkinson, the defending champion, has so far only participated at two rounds and the team are working to get back to full strength but now move into the top 10 in the standings.

Trying hard to get back on the podium was Irishman Gary Moulds. Although his passenger Steve Kirwin is still struggling with a back injury, the team were in action with a stand-in – our infamous Australian friend Brian Anthony. They also hold a top 10 championship place.

The next round of the 2019 British Sidecarcross Championship is at Wakes Colne on August 11.

Dean Moor Results – 2019 ACU Pro Clean British Sidecarcross Championship

1Stuart Brown / Josh Chamberlain25252575
2Brett Wilkinson / Ryan Humphrey22222064
3Jake Brown / Joe Millard20142256
4Gary Moulds / Brian Anthony18181854
5George Kinge / Lewis Gray16201652
6Dan Foden / Roy Bijenhof15161546
7Michael Hodges / Paul Horton14151443
8Tony Grahame / Charlie Ide13131339
9James Georges / Chris Pannell12121236
10Emma Moulds / Niki Adair11111133
11Tilo Maguire / Zac Snell79925
12Grant Young / Blake Stevens - Wood98724
13Matthew Connor / Jim Kinge661022
14Rob Oldfield / Faye Barnes1010222
15Luke Peters / Jack Wilkinson47819
16David Steeds / Darren Bishop25512
17Jonathon Wilson / Louise Houston8008
18Darren Caws / Chris Huntley0448
19Laim Mudie / Chris Booth1067
20Jake Wilson / Andrew Rowan5207
21Neil Warrington / Eric Maguire0336
22James Whitt / Scott Lloyd3003

SERIES STANDINGS after 4 (of 6) rounds: 1 S Brown 225, 2 J Brown 184, 3 Kinge 152, 4 Hodges 143, 5 Foden 136, 6 Grahame 125, 7 Wilkinson 106, 8 Moulds 99, 9 Georges 98, 10 Moulds 92, 11 Whitt 67, 12 Connor 63, 13 Peters 59, 14 Oldfield 52, 15 Field 49, 16 Pelling 45, 17 Young 44, 18 Moss 36, 19 Steeds 31, 20 Caws 28, 21 Maguire, 22 Warrington 24, 23 Mudie 22, 24 Balsaille 18, 25 Foyle 10, 26 Jonny Wilson 8, 27 Jake Wilson 7, 28 Waller 3

More Motocross