Team France take five in a row at RedBud MXoN

Team France take five in a row at RedBud MXoN

MXoN Podium 2018

The world’s biggest motocross race, the Monster Energy FIM Motocross of Nations, has taken on the American circuit of RedBud today where Team France ecstatically hoisted the Chamberlain trophy for their fifth year in a row!

The French team was led to victory by team captain and Monster Energy FIM MXoN veteran Gautier Paulin along with Dylan Ferrandis and Jordi Tixier. Coming in second by only a two-point deficit was the Italian team of Tony Cairoli, Michele Cervellin, and Alessandro Lupino. Taking the final spot on the podium was Team Netherlands led by Jeffrey Herlings along with Calvin Vlaanderen and Glenn Coldenhoff.

The 72nd running of the event was one of the most successful ever as countless motocross fans from around the world joined the Americans on the Michigan hillsides. The atmosphere created at this year’s Monster Energy FIM Motocross of Nations was as unique as the event itself hosting riders and fans from over thirty countries. The world’s most passionate, energetic, and sometimes crazy motocross fans were one of the best parts of this year’s event providing an emotion-packed day of racing.

A true pinnacle of the sport the Monster Energy FIM Motocross of Nations puts the usually independent riders into a team setting against competitors never before face truly testing their adaptability, speed, and consistency over a challenging weekend. While each fan and nation had their favourites for the win it was one of the most competitive and deeply talented Monster Energy FIM Motocross of Nations fields ever. With pride on the line and patriotism in their hearts 30 teams entered the competition but the field narrowed to an even more competitive 20 this morning.

19 teams directly qualified out of Saturday’s warm-up sessions but the 11 teams remaining had one last chance this morning via winning the B-Final. Bringing the crowd to their feet with their B-Final win was Team Puerto Rico’s Travis Pastrana, Kevin Windham, and Ryan Sipes.

Following the B-Final and a short break was an opening ceremony at the podium with motocross legends Ryan Villopoto, Jeff Stanton, Jeremy McGrath, John Dowd, Tim Ferry, Ricky Carmichael, Gary Semics, Ricky Johnson, Steve Stackable, Donnie Hanson, Billy Lies, Jeff Ward, Ron Lenchien, and Chuck Sun in his cowboy hat.

The legends shared their most memorable racing moments including participating in the previous editions of the Motocross of Nations before the microphones were handed over for speeches from Youthstream Vice President David Luongo, Monster Energy Vice President of Sports Marketing Mitch Covington, FIM/CMS Director Tony Skillington, President of AMA Rob Dingman, and United States Congressman Fred Upton.

Following the speeches and tradition yelling of “RedBuuuuud” the United States national anthem was sung to open the event! As the crowd and fireworks erupted in the background the riders MXGP and MX2 of MXoN race one went out on track for their sighting lap.