Barrow host Northern Centre Championship Round

Barrow host Northern Centre Championship Round

Tom Middleton - Frank Jackson Trial

The Lake District always attracts interest and the Barrow club Frank Jackson Trial – a Northern Centre Championship round – last Sunday was no exception being rewarded with an entry of 74 and a few welcome extras from centres where their events had been cancelled because of snow and ice.

The start venue was the old railway line near Torver, west of Coniston Water and the large single lap route took in terrain and section groups as used in the Lakes Two-Day Trial.

The weather forecast leading up to the trial was for heavy snow but then changed to rain.

And rain it did and while it didn’t make for pleasant riding – or observing – at least everyone was able to get round and then get home which might not have been the case if it had snowed.

The course plotters sorted out 34 separate sections which included a good mix of becks, gullies and rocky outcrops joined by
fields, fells, woods and some roadwork.

Stephen Dixon was back on top in the Experts on the Hard course, easing out a three-mark advantage over Tom Swindlehurst, these two having a cushion over third-placed Will Brockbank, who just managed to keep James Johnson off the podium.

It was also close on the Green (50/50) route with Rob Shuttleworth managing to work a couple of marks advantage from Stuart Gaskell, who is always somewhere round the sharp end with Tom Hodgson close behind in third.

As ever the Clubman class was the most popular with almost 40 hopefuls.

And it was Over 40 contenders Martin Peck and Mark Quinn in front. Martin was a clear winner on 20 but ‘Quinny’ only just held-off Over 50
Steven Davies on a most cleans tie-break.

And proving that age is no barrier it was Over 60 regular, Tony Haddow, next in line.

Despite the inclement weather there were only two retirements so hard luck to Expert Tom Alderson and regular Clubman Pete Blowers, who was pioneering until forced out with just eight sections to go.

Hard route: Stephen Dixon (Scorpa) 16, Tom Swindlehurst (Sherco) 19, Will Brockbank (Sherco) 27, James Johnson (Beta) 28, Richard Gaskell (Beta) 32, James Hayhurst (Scorpa) 33.
Green route: Rob Shuttleworth 15, Stuart Gaskell 17, Tom Hodgson 19, Simon Hartley 22, Tom Hutchinson 27, Dan Gaskell 28.
Clubman route: Martin Peck 20, Mark Quinn 22, Steven Davies 22, Tony Haddow 30. Richard Taylor 31, George Emmott 31.

More Trials