Epic Scott Trial is ready to rock

Epic Scott Trial is ready to rock

Doug will be missing from this year’s Scott Trial

This Saturday is the day, people, for the biggest one-day trial in the calendar which means, of course, The Scott.

This unique time and observation epic, run of course by the Richmond club, will once again take place on the moors surrounding the Yorkshire Dales town of Reeth, starting and finishing at Feldom Range, near Marske.

With a bright and breezy 9am start around 170 hopefuls – plus no fewer than eight riders in two Charity Teams – will leave the start at the rate of three a minute which means that inside an hour the moors will be buzzing as they attack the 80-odd miles and a similar number of observed sections.

It is only a few weeks ago that the area was devasted by flooding and it is only thanks to the landowners and farmers’ goodwill that the event can go ahead.

The flooding, which washed huge rocks hundreds of yards down becks and hillsides, has caused the clerk of the course many problems but they are somehow able to follow the traditional route which will contain all the spectator favourites.

Spectators are urged to buy a programme at the start before setting off as you MUST stick to the sections marked and not go of-road.

The main groups from the start include Underbanks, Reels Head, Surrender, By Pass, Grand Canyon, Whaw Bridge, Shaw Gutter, Bridgend, Sleeper Stones and back to Reels Head.

Your £5 for a programme also goes to the Scott Charities which benefits many projects and special groups in the Dales.

As ever, all the star names are packed at the rear of the entry and half the interest at The Scott is watching the aces rapidly making their way to the front of the field.

Three times winner James Dabill (Beta) must start as favourite but his pal Jack Price (Gas Gas) will be pushing for a first win while 2015 victor Ian Austermuhle (Beta) will be last man away.

Sherco field East Yorks brothers Dan and Jack Peace, Jack Sheppard plus James Fry and Emma Bristow, while Scorpa have Andy Chilton and Tom Minta in the mix.

Local ace Richard Sadler will be waving the Gas Gas flag as will his pal Guy Kendrew and Dan Thorpe.

And watch out for local Jonathan Richardson who won in 2011 and who has set Fastest Time on three occasions to date.

Although John Sunter set fastest time the year Johnny won overall and Sunt will be going for it again on his Montesa! Riders lose marks on observation but also on time.

The rider setting standard (fastest) time loses zero time faults with all other finishers losing an extra mark for each minute over Standard Time.

Remember, it all happens this Saturday. Here’s hoping for good weather and a great day out on the moo

One final word – PLEASE drive sensibly and park carefully and follow the advice in the programme.

No hat-trick for Doug

Sadly there will be no hat-trick of wins for Dougie Lampkin as the trials living legend has, unfortunately, had to pull out of the 2019 Scott.

Dougie says that an abdominal muscle tear has restricted him putting in the hours of practice and has had to admit that the injury just isn’t up to the kind of punishment Doug would mete out during the day.

There’s no way Doug would turn out just to ride around, it is win or nothing and this year it just isn’t on. Doug has won The Scott a total of six times, the first time when Beta mounted back in 1994, which is 25 years ago!

He then took back to back wins on Montesa in 2006/2007 and then on the DL12 Gas Gas in 2013.

Dougie then defied the odds, and the attention of the young guns, to take stunning victories in 2017/2018 with that perfect blend of speed and observation, which set-up the hat-trick attempt that now sadly won’t take place.