Home sweet Holme for Bultaco Revival trial

Home sweet Holme for Bultaco Revival trial

Flashback to last year's Revival as former factory stars Bernie Schreiber, Yrjo Vesterinen and Manuel Soler prepare for a nostalgic ride on the Barcelona beasts

The Westmorland club’s Bultaco Revival trial, one of the most prestigious events in the Classic trials calendar, takes place this Saturday, June 15, at Holme Farm, Middleton, Sedbergh, LA10 5ET, on the cusp of the Cumbria/ Yorkshire border.

And as well as playing host to some 140 riders the event welcomes a host of guest riders including Guest of Honour, 1979 Trial World Champion Bernie Schreiber.

Bernie, the man who started the trials trick-riding revolution with his floating front wheel pivot turns, remains the only Champ from the USA, although he has been resident in Switzerland for many years.

Joining Bernie will be fellow Bultaco legends Yrjo Vesterinen (TWC in 1976, ’77 and ’78) Spaniards Ignacio Bulto, Javier ‘Cuckoo’ Cucarella, Jaime Puig, Manuel Soler and French ace Charles Coutard.

And 1980s British National star John Reynolds will be making one of his rare appearances these days – on a Bultaco of course (although JR was also well-known for his exploits on Ossa and Suzuki).

Also Bulto-mounted are Cumbrian brothers Chris and Mike Myers, Andrew Brown, Dave Wood, Dan Clark and Stuart Blythe. In all there will be around 40 Bultacos competing so it really is a Bultaco Revival.

There’s also a certain John Lampkin entered on a Fantic and Glen Scholey on an immaculate Honda. Amongst the younger entries Ben Butterworth must be in there – not on the big Ariel but using Fantic power.

As well as around 100 Twinshocks there will be an assortment of Britshocks to add variety with the usual suspects on board like Paul Dennis, Mick Grant, John Maxfield, Nigel Greenwood, Chris Haigh, Chris Gascoigne et al.

The event is sponsored by LSS Waste Management, Coniston Brewing Company and Taylor’s Funfair and will kick off at 10am. But get there early and don’t miss a minute!