KIA’s six shooter

KIA’s six shooter

Gary Younghusband

Believe it or not the 2019 KIA National Twinshock Trials Championship will represent the sixth season of the popular classic series.

The organising team have their finger on the pulse, never rest on their laurels and ring the changes each year in order to keep the series fresh and hopefully attractive to more and more competitors.

And the first big news for 2019 is that KIA stay on board as title sponsors which is great news for the organisers. New for 2019 is the news that the series calendar is up to TEN rounds, including a double-header in the West Country in June but to give everyone a fair chance – not everyone can attend all rounds for various reasons – the best seven scores will count.

There’s a good mix of clubs and venues, with welcome new faces while some of the established events have switched dates so it’s all fresh for 2019. A quick run through the year shows us that Aqueduct Classics gets it all under way to warm us up in chilly February while a month later, newcomers to the series Lancs County chip in with an event near Lancaster.

Congleton, the club which staged the first ever KIA round back in 2014, return to the fray at the cracking Mow Cop venue while Sheffield and Hallamshire join in the fun in May. It’s then way out west in June for the weekend Devon double courtesy of the Devonport club who link-up with Torridge and District.

In July it is west again and the turn of Wye Valley Auto to get involved. There’s then a month’s break before Richmond MC, with Andrew Brown at the helm, bring on a brand new round that is a guaranteed belter. We are then at the back end of the year with Central wales Auto back in action in October before Castleside wind up proceedings at their superb Co Durham venue in November.

We’ll keep you bang up to date on all KIA series developments as the countdown begins to the 2019 season.

2019 KIA National Twinshock Trials Championship Calendar

February 24: Aqueduct Classics
March 17: Lancs County MCC
April 7: Congleton & District MCC
May 26: Sheffield & Hallamshire MCC
June 22: Devonport & District MCC
June 23: Torridge & District MC
July 14: Wye Valley Auto
September 15: Richmond Motor Club
October 13: Central Wales Auto
November 3: Castleside Trials Club
Seven from 10 rounds to count