Report & pictures: Len Hutty Memorial Trial

Report & pictures: Len Hutty Memorial Trial

Thomas Moss at the Len Hutty Trial

The sun shone on Hungry Hill for the 2019 Len Hutty Memorial Trial, organised by Surrey Schoolboys.

More than 230 riders from TVTC, STAR and South Coast groups rode in memory of Len, and Hungry Hill, near Aldershot, in Hampshire, was the ideal venue for reminiscing about the man and his Matchless, five years on from his passing.

Best Youth Archie Bush

Riders were treated to perfect conditions for tackling two laps of 18 sections and a special test.

Sections were set out to take advantage of the undulations of Hungry Hill and, despite some heavy rain the previous day, there was a reasonable amount of traction to help the riders defy gravity.

The Len Hutty trophy went to Charlie Tindle after he finished one mark ahead of Gary Martin on the Pre-67 Red Route.

Paul Fishlock and Debbie Merrell keep all four feet up

Thomas Moss once again set the fastest time on the Special Test, which was diligently overseen by the seasoned pair of Barry Bannister and Dave Mayle.

Special mention must be made to Mark Dryland and Steve Cronin in the Over 50s for remaining feet-up for the entire trial.

And John Dismore continued his track record of winning the Twin-shocks on his Honda, after dropping just a single mark on his first lap.


Best Expert: Dan Clark 6.
Best Youth Expert: Max Agar 84.
Best Inter: Colin Allsop 7.
Best Youth Inter: Zak Whalen 36.
Best Over 40: Michael Stiles.
Best Novice: David Fisher 0.
Best Youth/ Novice: Archie Bush 18.
Best Over 50: Mark Dryland 0, Steve Cronin 0.
Best Twin-shock: John Dismore 1.
Best A/ C/ Mono: Terry Tidbury 23.
Len Hutty Trophy & Best Pre-67 Red: Charlie Tindle 7.
Best Sidecar Red: Robert Head/ Aaron Jacobs 28.
Best Pre 67 Yellow: Vic Allan 9.
Best Sportsman: Roger Carter 5.
Best Sidecar Yellow: Paul Fishlock / Debbie Merrell 51.
Best Youth Beginner: Mason Tidd 12.
Fastest Special Test: Thomas Moss 38.90secs.