What a KIA cracker!

What a KIA cracker!

KIA Twin-shock

The nine-round 2017 KIA National Twinshock Trials Championship came to a close recently with the last round courtesy of the Central Wales Auto Club’s cracking event at Knighton over an all-new course.

This was just one of several new events/ venues as the series keeps itself fresh, including the Castleside club’s event near Consett in the north east and Scunthorpe in Lincolnshire. The series has once again proved to be a roaring success with no fewer than circa 300 riders scoring Championship points over the eight classes, four each over the Expert and Clubman courses.

The classes are Historic Spanish/ Pre-78 Twinshock, Pre-72 Britshock, Open Twinshock and Air-cooled Mono. All classes have enthusiastic followers and there has been a really interesting variety of machinery.

After due diligence the series organisers have now released the 2017 Champions. Steve Bisby took the Expert Historic Spanish on his Ossa Grippers while young Dan Sanders pipped his more experienced Yamaha TY rival Rob Faulkner.

Nigel Scott had a busy season contesting (and winning) the Britshock class on a Cub while also competing in the British Sidecar Trials Champs with his daughter in the chair of the Robin Luscombe supplied Beta outfit. Lusky also tuerned out on his Cub at the KIA round at Tong in Yorkshire.

Richard Allen, a great supporter of the KIA series, bagged the Twinshock win on his Honda TLR. Eirian Davies was top dog in the Clubman Historic Spanish/ Pre-78 Twinshock class on his 175 Yam while Mr Rockshock Gary Fleckney took the Mono title.

This left Pete Edwards to take Britshock on his Bantam while Steve Robson romped away with the Twinshock on a Fantic, just as he rode bacvk in the day. TMX will bring you a full KIA series wrap with lots of pics in the upcoming weeks to get you excited about the 2018 season…

Historic Spanish/ Pre-78: Steve Bisby (Ossa)
Air-cooled Monoshock: Dan Sanders (Yamaha)
Pre-72 Britshock: Nigel Scott (Cub)
Twinshock: Richard Allen (Honda)
Historic Spanish/ Pre-78: Eirian Davies (Yamaha)
Air-cooled Monochock: Gary Fleckney (Honda)
Pre-72 Britshock: Pete Edwards (Bantam)
Twinshock: Steve Robson (Fantic).