Race is on to get the 2018 RT Keedwell British Trials Championship underway

Race is on to get the 2018 RT Keedwell British Trials Championship underway

Jack Price

Saturday, March 10 is when Hookwood Trials Club start the seven-round series at Hookwood Trials Centre, West Horsley, Sussex.

It’s a race as the organising clubs only received the format and final instructions on Wednesday, February 14, with Championship and Youth A/B riders having to register with the ACU by Tuesday, February 20 – two days ago!

We already knew that the class formula was different going into 2018 with the prospect of fewer riders in the Championship class after the surprise introduction of a third, Masters, class introduced between Championship and Clubman.

It is understood that the Masters class (yes, it has been used before) has been re-introduced as several riders had intimated that they were planning on dropping down from Championship into the Clubman.

This, it was deemed, may have resulted in  a top-heavy Clubman class. Hence the new Masters which will use 50/50 sections, effectively the six easiest Championship sections and the six hardest Clubman versions.

There are also changes in the Youth class. Although the ACU A class Youth Champs has now moved back to run alongside the other Youth classes there’s a new Youth Elite class to
run alongside the Adults. Riders who opt to ride Youth Elite will NOT be eligible to contest the Youth A.

In addition, the T&E committee may allow certain Youth B riders to also contest Elite Youth. Riders don’t have to register for the Masters and Clubman classes, just get an entry in for each individual round.

A list of Championship Class, and eligible Masters Class (A&B Class) riders will be issued by the ACU  Trial and Enduro Committee. We will know more of who will be challenging for honours in which class when we see the list. Meanwhile, Jim Connor has just two weeks to crack on with the opening round at Hookwood.

Riders wishing to enter need to act fast and log on to the Hookwood website for further details or the ACU website to enter online. and the Gas Gas pilot will be up against new Sherco No.1 Jack Sheppard and new TRS signing Iwan Roberts.

Scorpa have two runners in Tom Minta, who has already ridden plenty of trials this year, and Andy Chilton. But with the new Masters class having been introduced we’ll just have to wait and see who signs up for the Championship and who opts to drop down.